Parish Council

Stanton in Peak Parish Council

The Parish Council comprises 7 elected councillors who employ a part-time CiLCA qualified Parish Clerk as their Proper Officer. Councillors are elected to serve for a four year term. The Parish is subdivided in three wards: Stanton in Peak – 5 councillors; Stanton Lees – 1 councillor; Warren Carr – 1 councillor.


3 parishioners have been nominated for the 5 seats in Stanton in Peak Ward Statement Of Persons Nominated – STANTON IN PEAK – STANTON WARD

1 parishioner has been nominated for the 1 seat in Stanton Lees Ward Statement Of Persons Nominated – STANTON IN PEAK – STANTON LEES WARD

No nomination received for the 1 seat in Warren Carr Ward

Council meets six times a year with meetings held at Stanton in Peak Village Hall on a Wednesday evening (if at Stanton Lees Chapel on a Tuesday evening) in January, March, May, July, September and November. Meetings commence at 7.30pm. Additional meetings are called as required.

The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Parish Council are elected by councillors every May. The Chair hosts the Annual Parish meeting each March giving a report on the previous year and opening the floor to debate on any matter raised by a parishioner.

The Precept – the local tax on parishioners – is set at the November meeting for the following year. Requests for donations made by local community groups are also considered at that meeting.

The Council leases The Green as a recreation and children’s play area in Stanton in Peak and the path from the Church to the Cemetery. It is also is responsible for 6 grit bins at: Pilhough crossroads, Coach Road, Stanton Lees Chapel Car park and junction, by the Green and at the lower end of Stanton in Peak (other bins are maintained and filled by the County Council); the bus shelter in Stanton in Peak and 3 noticeboards – one in each Ward. It provides an annual grant to the Parochial Church Council for maintenance of Stanton in Peak cemetery.


Contact Details

Matthew Lovell – Clerk

Christmas Cottage Church Street Youlgrave DE45 1WL 01629 636151


Parish Councillors

The Current Council up to May 2019 comprises:

Stanton Ward

Councillor Sue Fogg – Laburnum Cottage, Congreave Lane, Pilhough, Stanton in Peak DE4 2NF 732591

Councillor Ian Mortimore  – The Byres, Main Road, Stanton in Peak DE4 2LX   636826

Councillor Ros Griffith – 2 Lees Terrace, Stanton Lees DE4 2LQ



Stanton Lees Ward

Councillor  Paul Morris – High Bend, Lees Road, Stanton Lees DE4  2LQ      734111

Warren Carr Ward